top of page

The April Roundup: My Favorite Things This Month

What? April's ending already?

Man, time really does fly when you're having fun, huh?

It's crazy to think that in a few days, 2/5 of my glorious vacation will officially be over. And to think it was just yesterday when I first plopped down on my bed, empty to-do list hanging over my head, and a comforting sense of idleness as I maxed out YouTube's recommended videos...

So in honor of yet another month of hazy mornings and endless nights, I have decided to post a monthly roundup where I share with all of you my favorite things from different categories that have kept me both busy and buzzing for the past 3 weeks.

Without further adieu, I present: April.

Make-up

What better way to kick start a list of my current obsessions than with my everyday cosmetic staples?

Canmake Smooth Skin Primer: Pore Cover & Mat Keep

I've only recently started using a primer because I was always under the impression that if I didn't have large pores, I didn't necessarily need one. And although there is some truth to this, I've come to realize that a primer serves more than that purpose. In fact, another one of its uses is to be a base. But since I no longer use foundation or BB-cream on a daily basis, I've found that it also works perfectly as a standalone for people with combination/dry skin types. Personally, it mattifies mine and gives a subtle white tint to balance out any unevenness. Not only that, its application goes on incredibly thin! But just as a caveat, this is more of an "everyday" primer as it doesn't do much in keeping heavy makeup intact.

Price: I got this one in Japan, but Canmake is available in select Watson's branches and online.

Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lipstick Clay Crush

I'm so excited to talk about this, because for the past year I have been scouring the Internet for the best drugstore nude lippie. I knew about a couple of famous shades from high-end brands, but I couldn't shake the feeling that there was a more affordable alternative out there just waiting for me to discover.

Enter: Maybelline's 656.

After a passionate yet inevitably short-lived love affair with my Colourpop liquid lipstick, I thought I would give up matte forever since I couldn't stand the way it made my lips chap. But Clay Crush was my salvation; it was the perfect blend of beige and brown, and it kept my mouth as moisturized as a matte lippie could.

Maybe its magic, maybe its Maybelline.

Price: P299, Available in Watson's branches and online

Love & Beauty by Forever 21 Hint of Color: Bubble Gum Flavored Gloss

On a normal basis, I would be skeptical about buying makeup products from a clothing brand. Usually, I'm under this impression that if your forte isn't cosmetics, you can't really be trusted. But let me tell you: this gloss was definitely an exception.

To be honest, I have had this lying around in my room for a lot longer than I should have allowed. My aunt living in the US gave it to me as a present when she came to Manila for a visit. Back then, I just stored it away in my cabinet, thinking I would use it if I ever had to attend an early 2000s-themed party. But this month, I've been using it almost everyday of 2018.

It's simple really: it tastes good, and it looks good. A little goes a long way with this one-- the thick consistency makes a small dollop enough to lather all over with a bright sheen. It especially matches wonderfully with the more natural looks I've been doing, since the wet sheen gives my lips a healthy and moisturized plump.

Price: It seems that the product has been discontinued (☹), but you can find a similar shade here.

Etude House Easy Brow Pencil in Dark Grey

After a few months of forcing brown eyebrow shades, I finally decided to accept that maybe all the websites telling me to go for a color lighter than my hair didn't always have to be followed. Instead, I opted for Etude House's dark gray pencil, and since then, have never looked back.

It's a dual stick that, when first uncapped, disguises the pencil itself by only revealing the spoolie brush. But once you slide off the bottom half, you'll find the fully functional product ready for use!

The great thing about South Korean make up brands is that they cater to those opting for a natural look. Luckily, that's exactly what I was going for! So every time I use the pencil, it always blends seamlessly with my real brow hair, giving it that illusion of authenticity.

Price: P128, available in Etude House branches and online.

The Face Shop Designing Eyebrow Pencil in Dark Grey

This is my go-to product on days when I want to look a little more made-up. The twistable pen makes controlling the strokes easy, therefore also giving it the advantage of versatility. Being able to manage how much product I get on my brows allows me to switch it with my Etude House Easy Brow Pencil from time to time when I'm on my natural-look mood again. It's a little on the waxier side, but nonetheless, its smooth application and vibrant pigmentation is still adaptable for any strength of makeup I'm opting for.

Price: P225, Available in The Face Shop branches and online.

NYX Dark Circle Concealer in Medium

Although I'm undoubtedly loyal to Maybelline's concealer line, I couldn't help but swerve on over to the NYX lane when my mom spontaneously bought this for me after going to their semi-annual sale. I was initially skeptical about this because it was darker than my previous purchases and it was clearly not the high-coverage type. But it ended up becoming a staple piece after I brought it to my Casa Carmen trip (which you should totally read up about, by the way) and saw how seamlessly it blended with my skin tone. The peach color mixed with warm undertones did wonders for brightening my dark circles. Although its coverage goes on a little thin, I still think it's perfect for natural looks, especially since it still allows the shadows of your skin to show through.

Price: P390, Available in NYX kiosks and online.

Taiwan False Eyelashes in Y66

If I found a magic lamp and could only wish for one thing, without hesitation, I would wish for longer lashes. Although I'm on a journey to embrace the body I have been blessed with, I can't help but see my short eyelashes and wonder how to enhance them to bring out my eyes more. I started hunting around for a good pair of falsies, but have mostly come up empty handed since my ideal type seems to be a little too "natural" for the available versions out in the market right now. Although I haven't quite found my dream pair yet, I've come to really love Taiwan's Y66.

For this product, I have to thank Mia Jane Salisbury for introducing it to me through her pageant make up tutorial. When I first bought them off of the Shoppee app, it was during ball season, so I intended to use it in one of the dances I was attending. But things don't always turn out as planned, so I ended up using a completely different set and had this whole package of Taiwan lashes I would have to wait for another formal event to use. I felt like it was such a waste, so I tried wearing them to a profiling shoot wherein I was instructed to wear "fresh makeup". There were no complaints about it looking excessive, so since then, the Y66-- especially when curled-- has become my go-to for events wherein I need to be extra photogenic, but can't look too made up.

Price: P40, Available online.

Clothes

Forever 21 Blue Velvet Cabby Hat

My friends have called it the "police hat", the "sailor hat", and the "detective hat". But I just call it perfect.

Once I spotted my YouTube faves, Kelsey Simone and Eva Gutowski, sporting the newsboy cap on their Instagram accounts, I knew I had to get my hands on one too.

Price: P605, Available in Forever 21 branches and online.

Adidas Ultra Boost 3.0 "Triple White"

I have no words for how much I adore these, so let's just all stare at this picture in admiration because I know that aside from wearing the life out of those incredibly soft soles, I've also just been gawking at their beauty.

Music

Since there are so many songs I jammed to this month, I won't discuss them in-depth, but instead, just give you a brief description of what you'd feel while listening to them. Sidenote: You'll notice that April was full of throwbacks for me.

1. Tell Me You Love Me, album by Demi Lovato

Top picks:

  • Tell Me You Love Me: Empowered and a little hysteric to convince yourself of your own worth

  • Sorry Not Sorry: Empowered and unfazed by someone leaving or hating on you

  • Ruin The Friendship: Cheeky and sultry

  • Only Forever: Tired of waiting for someone to make the first move

  • You Don't Do It For Me Anymore: Unaffected by the allure/charm of someone who you used to have feelings for

2. Hannah Montana OST, album by Hannah Montana

Top picks:

  • He Could Be The One: Hopeful and giddy about a new person entering your life

  • Wherever I Go: Thankful for the past, and excited for the future

3. Fearless, album by Taylor Swift

Top picks:

  • The Way I Loved You: Nostalgic about the thrilling parts of being with someone

  • You're Not Sorry: Angry and tired of hurting

  • White Horse: Resigned to the idea that someone you really believed in let you down

  • Fearless: Thrilled by the power you feel when right person cares about you

4. Speak Now, album by Taylor Swift

Top picks:

  • Dear John: Hurt by someone who was always hot and cold with you

  • Better Than Revenge: Challenged by someone thinking they can take what's yours

  • Long Live: Thankful for the past

  • Mine: Charmed by the story Taylor sings about

5. Symphony Soldier, album by The Cab

Top picks:

  • Animal: Scandalous and reckless

  • Bad: Craving for a "bad girl"

  • La La: Spontaneous

  • Intoxicated: Filled with love and excitement for one unique person

6. I Like It by Cardi B: Empowered, badass, and a little cocky

7. Upgrade U - Audio from The Beyonce Experience by Beyonce: Empowered by your ability to motivate someone

8. Overnight by Logic: Confident because of the hustle you endured to get the success you have now

9. double by Blackbear: Sultry and confident that you could give the person you like more than their current partner

10. End Game by Taylor Swift ft. Future, Ed Sheeran: Hopeful about being with the person you're currently with forever (Honestly, I only really like this song for Ed's verse-- his flow is rhythmic)

Entertainment

When I first became a fan of Niki and Gabi, it was back in 2015 during my YouTube phase. I recently started watching their videos again, but mostly kept myself updated on Gabi's personal channel where she shows the less filtered side of her life. Both sisters are amazing, but I relate with Gabi more since, just like her, I consider myself to be stereotypically "girly". I could binge watch her vlogs for hours, and yes, I definitely have.

Actually, what even piqued my interest for the twins again was stumbling across a promo for their YouTube reality show airing on AwesomenessTV. I watched the first episode and instantly became obsessed over Niki and Nate's blossoming relationship. I was supposed to stop watching by the second episode, but I found myself hooked on the "squad drama" that persisted during the trip.

When I still watched a lot of TV, I spent most of my time on E! News, sucking up whatever celebrity documentary they had on. There's just something about learning the evolution of a public figure that's always been so appealing to me, especially if I'm a fan of said personality. So when YouTube recommended Demi Lovato's documentary to me after hours of going through her music videos, I knew I couldn't resist. It was a beautiful experience to watch her compacted journey, and I highly recommend it to anyone going through a hard time right now. I was inspired from start to end, especially since every scene was raw, real, and 100% vulnerable.

bottom of page