top of page

Casa Carmen: Your Favorite Throwback

Annie Danielson once said "Home is where your story begins" and after my very first visit to Casa Carmen, I can now assure you that I have found a story worth telling.

Situated on the upper slopes of the Taal Volcano, this beautiful rural getaway carries all the elegance of a classical 19th century colonial home, combined with the convenience of a modern villa. Nestled amidst the province of Cavite, Casa Carmen is the perfect pair for the outlying beauty of Silang, with its striking embodiment of Philippine heritage.

Tranquil and calm, visitors will appreciate the silent atmosphere brought about its location near the forest, a stark contrast to the hustle and bustle of the city.

Upon entrance, the first thing you will notice is the abundance of greenery decorating the front yard. There is no shortage of fresh air and serenity brought upon by the variety of plants and flowers, automatically contributing to a relaxed and pacific environment.

For my stay, we occupied the Casa Carmen Suite in the ground floor of the two story elevated building. And the moment I entered through the double-decker doors, I was enchanted by what stood in front of me.

If I initially expected the bahay na bato architecture to be a mere design in the exterior for attracting foreign tourists, I was delightfully surprised to discover that the entire home shared the motif. From the four poster king size bed adorned in romantic cotton sheets with rose petal embroidery, wooden byobu or Japanese folding screens, native wooden carvings, to the spacious luxury bathroom and private veranda overlooking the forest, I could not help but feel like if standing between these 4 walls meant being transported to the Spanish period the room typified, I never wanted to go back.

Being a city girl, I was a little worried that because of how true-to-life the suite was to the vintage stone houses, air-conditioning systems and a familiar comfort room experience would be an issue. But again, I was proven pleasantly wrong when I discovered that not only did the cool breeze from the nearby forest act as a natural AC, the archetypal ventilation system was equally as present and effective as the ones that existed in the original colonial homes.

Stepping outside was almost completely impossible, given that the cozy nature of the room practically demanded its residents to sleep in and indulge in its soothing embrace. But although the task was difficult, I'm still glad that I found it in me to do a little bit of exploration on the rest of the lot because I was greeted with, yes, more architectural gems.

Within the Casa Carmen complex lies yet another option for rest, except better suited for singular travelers or pairs. The Garden Cottage is built in a bahay kubo fashion, in a sense that a set of steep wooden stairs must be conquered before arriving in the quaint living space. In this bedroom, another four poster king size bed stands adjacent to a luxury bathroom. Screened windows line the left hand side of the room while decorative yet equally purposeful furniture embellishes the room.

And just when I thought this compound couldn't get any better, lo and behold, I found the bath house.

A culmination of cultures, this unique isolated comfort station was inspired by Bali's garden bathroom, complete with wooden statue, bamboo walls, and a roofless area. Talk about one with nature!

After a day of exploring, the only thing I wanted more than a good sleep was a good meal. And thankfully, I got to do just that plus enjoy the ambiance as I indulged in a hearty lunch prepared by our hosts in the nearby shed. Although I didn't get to dine in the garden, there is a beautiful furniture set available for guests to have their afternoon tea in or perhaps a midnight/early morning chat. Whatever the activity, Casa Carmen's infusion of modernity and period elegance makes it the perfect venue for just about anything-- whether a romantic getaway, a spiritual retreat away from metropolitan, or a simple family vacation, you can be sure that this home away from home will always be here to welcome you with open arms.

bottom of page