top of page

DIY Bandeau From A Ribbed Top

It's no secret: I'm obsessed over tube tops.

Lately I've been trying to find any excuse to incorporate bandeaus into my outfits, and now that summer has officially begun, my need to sport them everywhere has only increased.

The other day, I was checking out some of the old clothes I set aside for donation, when I stumbled upon a familiar striped piece.

It was a hand-me-down from my eldest sister that I attempted to upcycle last summer by redoing the neckline. Unfortunately, it didn't turn out as well as I wanted it to, so after only one wear, I decided it was time to finally retire it.

But then, it hit me-- it's ribbed. It's made of a stretchable fabric that fits my body like a glove. Just because its present form wasn't too attractive, that didn't mean I couldn't take advantage of its more-than-ideal material.

So with my brain screaming "Turn it into a tube top!" and a pair of scissors eager to make the new adjustments, I got to work.

Materials

The ribbed top you want to upcycle

A bandeau/tube top with your ideal length

A pair of scissors

Directions

1. Lay out your ribbed top on a flat surface. Make sure there are no wrinkles on your material.

2. Place your bandeau of choice on the portion of your shirt that you want to cut. Personally, I already altered the neckline so I had to go for the bottom half.

3. Follow the measurements of your bandeau and cut the ribbed top.

4. By now, your top should look something like this. And honestly, that's it!

5. With just one quick snip, you've got yourself a new top!

Obviously, there wasn't too much to the process. But hey, if you're looking for a quick fix to a long-suffering top, let this be what prompts you to check out your old clothes and make the best out of their salvageable areas!

bottom of page