top of page

How To Wear Your Swimsuits Outside of the Water

With the rainy season officially upon us, a new wardrobe is a must in order to stay dry. Cloudy skies call for extra coverage, so that must mean it's time to say goodbye to all those swimsuits we hoarded over the summer, right?

Well, not quite.

I'm an avid believer that at the end of the day-- no matter what season it is-- a good and functional outfit relies solely on how you style it. It's common practice around here to layer on the fabrics when things get chilly, so whose to say you can't throw a bikini or two in the mix?

If you want to know how to incorporate your swimmies into your next cold-proof outfits, keep on reading!

Leather jacket + one piece

When it comes to fashion, I don't believe in labels. Stores might call this a "monokini", but I don't see how it's any different from the regular bodysuits chain stores retail for over P500. For this post, Sun's Out MNL so kindly agreed to collaborate with me and send over their adorable mustard "Wanderlust" one piece to style. If you haven't heard of them yet, they're an up and coming Instagram store that supplies the cutest padded one-pieces with fun tropical phrases. The amazing thing about this brand is that although they market their apparel as swimwear, their fabric is 100% casual-approved! Not only that, their product is one of the only free sized swimmies I've ever owned that actually fits perfectly on any body type.

| Jacket: New Look | One piece: Sun's Out MNL | Skirt: Forever 21 | Black belt: hand-me-down | Gold chain belt: thrifted |

Skin-tight yet completely breathable, I decided to take advantage of its ability to accentuate my curves by pairing it with a long, fitted, pencil skirt. I've been loving the vintage trend lately, so I accessorized my bottoms with a sturdy black belt and a gorgeous golden plate-chain belt as an homage to the Chanel 1994 RTW runway. Finishing the look off, I threw on a chunky leather jacket over my shoulders to create an inverted triangle silhouette.

Windbreaker + halter top

My Instagram feed was flooded with photos of friends and followers alike sporting halter top bikinis during the beach season. Again, they're absolutely no different from the usual crop tops you'll find in the likes of Topshop and Forever 21, so I decided to style it exactly as if it were one of them.

| Windbreaker: Hang Ten (@sheshopph) | Halter swimsuit top: hand-me-down | Belt: hand-me-down | Flare jeans: Penshoppe |

The petite feature of this kind of top matches well with something that highlights its tiny form, so I went with an oversized windbreaker and a pair of denim flare jeans. To keep with the American theme, I cinched my waist with a red belt and draped a USA flag-themed handkerchief across the loops of my jeans.

Long sleeves + one piece

If leather isn't your thing, netted long sleeves are just as edgy but twice as light. I did a little crossover with this outfit by using two "beachwear" pieces.

| Long sleeves cover up: Forever 21 | One piece: @letsgetglamph on Shopee ! Shorts: Denim Co. | Pullover: BAPE |

The inner top used to be a long cover-up that I initially bought for my trip to Boracay in 2015, but when I realized that fishnets were slowly making their way back into the style scene, I decided to cut it in half and turn it into a sleeved crop top. Staying with the color scheme, I paired my red monokini with a pair of denim blue shorts. And yes, I am fully aware that outfit does not nothing to keep me warm, so I ended the look with a red and blue oversized sweater to drape around me.

Bonus

I know this isn't exactly rain appropriate, but I just couldn't get enough of my Sun's Out MNL's Wanderlust one piece that I had to show you guys one last way you could style your own.

| One piece: Sun's Out MNL | Skirt: bazaar find | Ribbon: National Bookstore |

Even when the cold has run its course, there will be an in-between phase wherein the weather is just right. When that day comes, you can still sport your swimmies by giving it a new look! Pre-attached chokers are all the rage nowadays, so I took the DIY route and paired my mustard one piece with a chrome ribbon to wrap around my neck. Together with my asymmetrical pencil skirt, I think my pastel ensemble channeled the Philippines' usual "cold enough to hide my neck, hot enough to expose my legs" weather perfectly!

And the best part about wearing swimsuits in the rainy season? If you ever do get wet, you can always count on your clothes to be water-absorbent!

How would you style your swimwear?

bottom of page