top of page

The May Roundup: My Favorite Things This Month

With May coming to a close in just a few days, it's crazy to think that yet another month from my glorious summer vacation is reaching its end. 2 down, 3 more to go.  

These past weeks have been hectic beyond belief for me-- artistically, I've churned out more content in the last 25 days than I did in the whole of 2017. Alright, maybe that's a little bit of an exaggeration, but the point still stands: May was drenched with creative juices. 

Because of the overwhelming amount of new experiences and work to be done, it was important that I still made time to appreciate the little things. So without further adieu, here is my roundup of my favorite simple joys this month!

BEAUTY

Revive Bubble Wand

My mom got this for me and my sister about a year and a half ago, but I never really got around to using it since, at the time, I didn’t know how to work hot tools. 

But recently, I’ve started wanting to change up my hairstyles from the usual buns and ponytails. I played around with wands and irons we had stored, but ultimately fell in love with this curling rod by Revive. They’re easy to use and perfectly achieve that “effortless beach waves” I’ve been obsessing over!

I've been really interested in the sunkissed/drunk blush trend popularized by Nadine Lustre recently, so after multiple YouTube tutorials and blog how-tos, I set out to find the perfect inexpensive tint to achieve that naturally flushed effect.

Ever Bilena Advance Lip & Cheek Stain in Very Red

After seeing Andrea Brillantes' rosy look on Instagram, I initially decided to get the Careline jelly tint that she was advertised to be wearing. Unfortunately, it would be out of stock every time I tried to pick it up from the drugstore.

Honestly, I usually don't give a second look at local make-up brands, but the EB Lip &  Cheek Stain caught my attention for its striking resemblance to the Careline product I came for. Testing it out, I was amazed by the natural flush it gave me without looking unnatural or cakey. This is a total bargain and definitely put all my other blushers in the trash!

SKIN CARE

Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel, P1,810

I actually started using this soley because my mom had become a regular customer of the company last March, so she often dropped by their branches to test out mew products. 

Among one of them was their Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel tailor fit for combination to oily skin. Although I lean towards the drier end of the spectrum, I found that using it twice daily (morning and night) gave my skin a brighter and oveall more nourished finish. 

ACCESSORIES

Kate Spade Large Valentines Day Maryanne Quilted White Leather Shoulder Bag

Yet another purse that my mom had lent us that I just can’t find in me to return, this has officially become the perfect carry-on to bring along with in my internship. 

It’s incredibly spacious inside and definitely doesn’t lack in pockets. The center is divided by a zipped up pouch that I can depend on to secure all my important belongings. But aside from functionality, the quilted white leather design gives an air of elegance and simplicity while still looking trés chic!

ENTERTAINMENT

BTS “Tear” Album

The 2018 didn’t just symbolize the start of a new year— it also signalled the beginning of new music. Since January, my sister has gotten me hooked on the Korean boyband, BTS, and since first being introduced to them, I haven’t looked back. 

Their comeback album, Tear, was released just last week but it’s already managed to top my  list of music favorites for the month. What I love about the tracklist is how versatile everything is— you have the hyped rap song (Outro: Tear), the midnight drive tune (Paradise), the token sentimental melody (The Truth Untold— mt personal favorite), the all-around good vibes jam (Anpanman aka another favorite), and more!

Now that you know what I loved this month, let me know in the comment section down below what were yours! 


bottom of page